Skip to content

My milkshake (and truffles) bring the boys to the yard.

April 10, 2010

I actually love desserts more than my boy, but he does enjoy them too.

There is one smoothie that I crave any time of day.  It’s actually more like a milkshake and can be made in many variations.

Banana Almond Butter Smoothie

4 T raw almond butter
2 bananas
½ cup milk (I use almond or hemp)
1 cup frozen fruit
1 T flax seed meal
1 tsp cinnamon

Blend until smooth.

For the smoothie in this photo, I used frozen blueberries but any fruit will do!  You can also use frozen bananas for an even creamier texture.  I occasionally buy almond and hemp milks, but I definitely need to start making my own raw versions!

Inspired by the delicious photos on Raw on $10 a day, I made Double Chocolate Truffles.  Here is my slightly altered recipe:

Double Chocolate Truffles

truffles
½ cup raw almonds
½ cup raw pistachios
1 ¼ cup medjool dates
5 T raw cacao powder
2 tsp vanilla
pinch of sea salt
pinch of cayenne pepper

coating
3 T coconut oil, melted
3 T agave
3T raw cacao powder
1 tsp cinnamon

In a food processor with an S blade, process the dates, nuts, cacao, vanilla, salt, and cayenne until the mixture starts to stick together.  Your hands make the best tools to shape the truffles.  Put in the freezer to chill for at least half an hour.

Make the coating by melting the coconut oil and stir in the agave, cacao powder, and cinnamon.  Dip the bottom of the chilled truffles in the coating.  Once the bottoms harden, coat the entire truffle.   Chill until ready to enjoy.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. April 12, 2010 5:21 pm

    The truffles were awesome!! Best raw dessert ever!

  2. Sherri permalink
    May 8, 2010 8:27 pm

    The truffles are delicious!

  3. July 8, 2010 12:34 am

    I make a ‘milkshake’ very similar to this one, sometimes adding Carob powder…Truffles look Devine!

  4. Raw Jenna permalink*
    July 8, 2010 9:48 pm

    Oh, a carob milkshake would make me so happy right now!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

