Skip to content

I heart chocolate!

June 9, 2009

Once upon a time, I was completely addicted to chocolate.  I had to have at least a bite of chocolate after every meal.  Given the opportunity, I would often eat much more than a bite.  My gluttonous dependence of chocolate was amusing to others, which encouraged me to eat more.  My greatest weaknesses were Dove milk chocolates and any kind of chocolate cupcake.

However, since going mostly raw, I am happy to say that I have broken my addiction to chocolate and processed sugar in general!  I find it quite shocking that it happened so accidentally and with very little pain.  I just stopped buying it.  I bought a small pack of Doves recently, and I really don’t like it anymore.  The chocolate tasted fake and too sweet.  For an after dinner treat, I still prefer something sweet, but now I’m usually happy with a juicy piece of fruit.

Summer break is here, and now I have more free time for making yummy things.  We went to a food co-op yesterday where I found raw cacao powder.  I wanted to make something creamy and delicious and found a mousse recipe online.  I adapted the recipe based on the ingredients that I had.  I very much enjoyed eating this dessert with fresh strawberries!  So, the moral of the story is, I still LOVE chocolate.raw chocolate mousse

Raw Chocolate Mousse
adapted from Living Cuisine by Renee Underkoffler

½ cup pitted soft dates
3-4 Tbsp. agave
1 Tbsp. cold-pressed coconut butter
1 ½ Tbsp. non-alcohol vanilla extract
2 ½ cups mashed avocado (about 3 medium avocados)
3/4 cup raw cacao powder
4-6 tablespoons carob powder

1.  Soak the dates in ½ cup fresh water for 5-10 minutes to soften. Drain the soak water and set aside.
2.  In a food processor, blend dates, maple syrup, coconut butter, and vanilla until smooth. Spoon in avocado and blend until smooth. Add a few tablespoons of date soak water if necessary to aid in blending. Spoon in carob and cocoa powder and blend until smooth.
3. Chill in fridge until you can’t wait anymore! Enjoy!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

