Skip to content

Summer soups… or winter

June 24, 2009

Since becoming a vegetarian, I have loved soups.  So far this week, I have tried 2 new soup recipes.  Both were delicious!

For a hot day I made Cool Cucumber Soup from Raw Foods for Busy People By Jordan Maerin.  I love that Maerin often gives alternative ingredients in his recipes, so I can make what’s convenient and what sounds the yummiest to me.  Here is his recipe:

Cool Cucumber Soup Cool Cucumber Soup
2 large cucumbers, chopped
¼ cup lemon juice
1 tsp. salt
water to thin
2 Tb. raw tahini or 1 avocado
1 scallion, chopped
¼ cup fresh dill or mint

Combine all except the scallions and herbs, and whip until smooth. Add the scallions and herbs and pulse blend, leaving the greens in small pieces.

I choose to use tahini and dill, and I absolutely loved it!  I’m sure avocado and mint would be great too.  Next week, we will be vacationing at the beach, and I think this soup would make for a refreshing lunch break from the Florida sun.  I can’t wait!

So I love light, refreshing soups in the summer time, however, my husband craves meals like chili all year round.  I was doubtful that it was even possible to make a raw chili, but Penni at Real Food Tulsa has shown me the way.  I made Penni’s Rawkin’ Raw Chili tonight, and it actually tasted like chili!  Unbelievable!  Who knew?  I am sure this recipe will soothe all cravings of warm, filling goodness this fall and winter!  Mom, can I enter our family Chili Cook-off?

I’m so impatient! I ate a few bites before taking a picture!Penni's Rawkin' Raw Chili

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Kendra permalink
    March 16, 2010 10:33 pm

    I made the chili last night and the cucumber soup today. They were both very delicious in very different ways. While very tasty, my chili came out very spicey–next time I will check the chili powder before seasoning because I don’t think all chili powders are created equal.

    BTW: Do you know any recipes for raw sour cream?–I think it would cool this batch down a bit.

    • Raw Jenna permalink*
      March 17, 2010 9:14 pm

      Yum! We had the cucumber soup this week too. I love it so much.

      We usually put avocado in our chili to balance the spiciness. There are raw recipes for sour cream usually made from sunflower seeds. I’ve only had this in restaurants… never made it myself. Let me know if you try a recipe!

Leave a Reply

