Skip to content

Snacks on the go

June 28, 2009

I’m at the beach with my family.  This is my first time on a trip being “raw.”  Prior to leaving, I read many blogs about what raw foodists take on trips.  Each journey is different, each trip having some foods more convenient than others.  Preferring to take as few cars as possible on the drive to Florida, we have very little space (I have a hard time packing light).  I couldn’t bring my blender, and bringing herbs and spices for preparing meals seemed overwhelming.  I knew I wanted to bring my favorite snack food, Cheezy Kale Chips, so I decided to dehydrate some other raw snack foods for the week.  Using my trusty Excalibur dehydrator, I made Tempura Kale Chips, Spicy Kale Chips, Cheez Itz, Corn Chips, and Lemon Macaroon cookies.

Dehydrated snacks

Like most people, I am still very tempted by many convenient foods, and the family has many delicious but very not raw snacks just laying around the vacation house.  I am managing to eat mostly raw, but I have a very hard time saying no to most chocolately snacks.  So I eat a little of their food, and I’m sharing my dehydrated snacks with the others.  Sadly, I over dehydrated the Cheezy Kale Chips which I am sure would have been a big hit otherwise.  The Tempura Kale chips give you bad breath, but I like the spicy ones.  I am going to have to get a Vitamix blender before attempting corn chips again… mine just couldn’t blend it finely enough.  After eating a corn chip, you end up with a few whole corn kernels stuck in your teeth.  Most unattractive!  Coconut lovers in my family have been fans of the Lemon Macaroons.  They are very simple and good!

When we got here, we stopped by the grocery store to pick up as much organic produce that we could find.  Hopefully that and my snacks will last us through the week!

3 Comments leave one →
  1. July 7, 2009 10:27 am

    Those Macaroons were really good. And I liked the spicy kale chips a lot … I thought they had a kind of pizza flavor to them. I still like the cheezy kale chips the best however.

  2. Mary permalink
    August 24, 2009 2:04 pm

    Love love love the cheesy kale chips. And for dessert the lemon coconut cookies! I’m just getting started with the food dehydrator and really appreciate any helpful hints and good recipes. Thanks!

  3. Raw Jenna permalink*
    August 24, 2009 8:36 pm

    Great, Mary! Another favorite dehydrator snack is fruit rollups! Just blend up your favorite fruits, pour onto your nonstick dehydrator sheets, and dehydrate overnight.

Leave a Reply

