Skip to content

Not so everyday food.

August 30, 2009

My new favorite cookbook!

My mom let me borrow some raw cookbooks from her library.  The most recent one was Everyday Raw by Matthew Kenny.  Weeks later, I decided that I just cannot part with this book, so a library fine and a trip to Borders, I now own it!  Sorry mom, I’ll return it the library copy tomorrow!


Kenney is one of the owner’s of Pure Food and Wine in Manhattan, so obviously his recipes are going to be gourmet.  The recipes themselves and the accompanying photographs are quite intimidating, but I have mastered several so far!  He seems to be a big fan of fatty foods (healthy fat!), and each dish I have prepared is very rich and delicious.

So I cannot eat like this every day, but I can be gourmet on occasion.  Tonight, I made Kenney’s Tomato, Basil, and “Mozzarella” pizza.

Isn’t it beautiful?

Tomato, basil, "mozzarella" pizza

The flax seed/ squash crust was dehydrated overnight, the “cheese” is blended macadamia nuts, and the toppings are arugula, basil, and tomato!

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Patty permalink
    August 30, 2009 7:50 pm

    I’d love to dry the pizza. It looks delicious!

  2. August 31, 2009 10:58 am

    This is a very rich and delicious dish. It is really pushing it to eat more than a single slice. But that just means more leftovers!

  3. Misty permalink
    September 21, 2009 4:05 pm

    I have got to get a dehydrator so I can start making these recipes — they look soooo delicious! I would love to try those macaroons too!

Leave a Reply

