Skip to content

I am thankful for all that I have.

November 29, 2009

My family has quite elaborate Southern holiday meal traditions.  Being the only vegetarian in my family was a little difficult, but now I have my husband to bring with me to holiday dinners.  This was our first Thanksgiving since we discovered raw food.  We agreed to balance our meals with raw and cooked food.  The days before Thanksgiving, I made a several raw items to bring with us to South Georgia.

For snacking on the drive down, we took apples, pears, bananas, and ladybugs on a limb (celery covered with almond butter and dried cranberries).

For our main entree, I marinated some sliced portabello mushrooms in Nama Shoyu, olive oil, balsamic vinegar, and oregano.  Then the mushrooms are dehydrated for a few hours on a teflex sheet.

To accompany the cooked dishes, I made a raw cranberry relish.  Just process 2 cups of fresh cranberries with 1 peeled orange, 1 peeled lemon, and 2 dates.

For my favorite course, dessert, I made three of my favorites: apple pie, pineapple ginger fruit rollups, and chocolate macaroons.   Yum!

The day we got back from our trip, I found this great menu for raw holiday dishes that I will be trying out in the next few weeks.


No comments yet

Leave a Reply

