Skip to content

Happy Holidays!

December 24, 2009

We’re getting ready to head down south for the holidays again.  In an effort to keep at least 50 percent raw over the holidays, I spent the day preparing foods to take.

For meals, I’ve packed the ingredients to make Raw Waldorf Salad and made Walnut and Spinach Pesto Stuffed Mushrooms.

For dessert, I made Tropical Chocolate Truffles and Carob Silk Pie (shh! don’t tell anyone that the main ingredient is avocado).  I can’t wait to eat!


Carob Silk Pie

Crust

1⁄2 cup almonds (soaked 8 hours)
1 1⁄2 cups walnuts (soaked 8 hours)
1 cup dates, pitted (soaked for 4 hours)

1.  Blend in food processor until nuts are chopped well.
2.  Press into a pie pan.
3.  Dehydrate crust for 2-3 hours.

Pie filling

2 cups dates, pitted (soaked 4 hours)
1⁄2 cup date juice (left from soaking dates)
4 ripe avocados
1 1⁄2 cups raw organic carob powder
3 Tbsp. raw agave nectar

1.  Blend in food processor.
2.  Pour into pie crust.
3.  Let set in fridge for at least 1 hour before serving.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Kendra permalink
    March 9, 2010 5:58 pm

    I made the truffles and the silk pie in twice in the past couple of months. My daughter is only 2 1/2 and has a real sweet tooth When she tried these she said, “mmm…this is chocolate”–and felt like she was getting away with something ;). Finally a dessert that I feel good about letting her have seconds of!

  2. Raw Jenna permalink*
    March 10, 2010 6:53 pm

    If only everyone knew how delcious raw desserts are! Raw desserts are how I knew I could do the raw diet.

  3. Kendra permalink
    March 16, 2010 6:45 pm

    Lol! Me too. I was just telling someone yesterday that I had no problem eating raw all day so long as there was chocolate in my day–and those truffles hit the spot!

    • Raw Jenna permalink*
      March 17, 2010 9:16 pm

      Kendra, Ani Phyo has an amazing recipe for chocolate icing similar to this pie. I’ll have to give you the recipe. I’ve been eating raw icing all week!

Leave a Reply

