Skip to content

i heart kale

February 21, 2010

We recently planted our winter garden and are growing kale for the first time.  I cannot wait until it is ready to pick.  Kale has one of the highest levels of antioxidants than any other vegetable.  It is also a great source of beta-carotene, vitamin C, and calcium.

There are many websites dedicated to kale.   I heart kale and 365 Days of Kale offer many recipes for kale.  However, like most things these days, I prefer my kale raw.

I love to put kale in my smoothies and make kale chips.   Add kale to any mixed green salad to increase the nutritional value.  My two favorite kale salad recipes are Kale Avocado Salad and Kale, Corn, and Red Bell Pepper Salad.  Both require that you massage the kale in either avocado or olive oil, which makes your hands feel like they just had a manicure.
What are your favorite kale recipes?

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Denise O permalink
    February 23, 2010 9:15 pm

    Hey Jenna – Melody hooked me up with your site. So excited to see the recipe for Kale Chips. I heard Melody and Mary talking about them. I guess my next step is to get a dehydrater. Can’t wait to look at all of your other recipes. Take care.
    Denise

  2. Raw Jenna permalink*
    February 23, 2010 9:57 pm

    Denise,

    In the meantime, you can search for ways to make kale chips in your oven. Your oven will get too hot for them to be considered “raw,” but they’ll still be yummy!

Leave a comment