Skip to content

Kelp noodle heaven

February 28, 2010

I’ve never been a big fan of eating anything that came from the ocean, but an article in the summer edition of Purely Delicious magazine convinced me to try out seaweeds.  First up on my list to try was kelp.  Kelp is very high in iodine, which regulates your metabolism, stimulates the thyroid gland, and fights bacteria and infections.  It is also rich in iron, potassium, and calcium.

I decided to introduce myself to kelp with Sea Tangle’s kelp noodles.  There are only two stores in Georgia that carry these raw, unprocessed, 6 calorie, 0 fat, and 1 carbohydrate per serving alternative to spaghetti.  I got mine at Life Grocery where they said the bags of these noodles go fast so you should call ahead.


Kelp noodles are clear and have very little taste on their own.  They remind me of the clear glass noodles found in my favorite Thai food dish, so I decided to try an Asian inspired recipe.  After a quick search on the internet, I found the highly recommend dish Kelp Noodle Heaven.

I made the Kelp Noodle Heaven into a cold noodle salad and LOVED it!  The noodles are a little crunchy, but otherwise they are nothing like I imagined eating seaweed noodles would be.

You can also purchase kelp in flake or granule form.  The flakes can be added to salads and the granules can be used in place of salt.  Sea vegetables are a great way to add valuable vitamins and minerals to your diet!

One Comment leave one →
  1. Raw Jenna permalink*
    February 28, 2010 12:58 pm

    I am going to order one case (12 packages) of Kelp Noodles and one case (12 packages) of Mixed Sea Vegetables from Sea Tangle. Let me know if you want to split a case with me!

Leave a Reply

