Skip to content

Three Days of Chocolate

June 10, 2010

Some raw foods take very little time to prepare and some take a bit longer.  Three days ago I started a recipe…

DAY 1:

On Monday night I started step one: Chocolate Chips.  I halved the recipe from Everyday Raw:

raw chocolate chips

a little less than 1 cup cashews

½ cup maple syrup *not raw

½ cup raw cacao powder

1/8 tsp vanilla extract

¼ tsp sea salt

Blend all ingredients until smooth.  Place in piping bag and pipe chocolate chips onto Teflex sheet.  Dehydrate overnight at 115°.

I don’t have a Vita-mix so my chips were a little lumpy.  I also did not have piping bags (I have tips, but no bags), so I used a ziplock baggie.  Not the cutest chips ever, but luckily looks don’t affect taste!  Notice in the picture there are quite few missing.  🙂

Even though I halved the recipe, I still had plenty of chocolate left over in my baggie.  While the chips were dehydrating, I enjoyed this dessert!


raw banana chocolate ice cream

4 ripe bananas

3 T raw cacao powder

When your bananas have brown spots, you know they are ripe and sweet.  Peel and slice the bananas.  Spread a single layer on cookie sheet and freeze.  Food process or blend depending on your texture preference.

The food processor creates more of a fluffy texture and the blender creates a creamy, almost soft-serve texture.  You can make your “ice cream” even creamier by blending up a ripe avocado with the frozen banana.  Avocado and chocolate go seriously good together.  I topped my ice cream with left over chocolate chip “fudge” and strawberries.

DAY 2:

My plan was to wake up and use the chocolate chips to make chocolate chip cookies.  Well, I was a half a cup short of cashews, so I ate some chocolate chips for breakfast and went to the store.

Finally, I was ready to make the raw chocolate chip cookies from Everyday Raw.  I put the cookies in the dehydrator and then used the rest of the leftover chocolate chip “fudge” on my pear.  Yum!

DAY 3:

I woke up on Wednesday to a delicious smell of cookies!  Breakfast, of course, was chocolate chip cookies.  Wow! They are fudgie and delicious!  So worth it!

6 Comments leave one →
  1. June 11, 2010 2:05 pm

    They look great! Yum!

  2. June 30, 2010 6:36 pm

    Yum, they look so good. I am looking forward to being able to afford my dehydrator – and my blender for that matter… lol.
    Love raw food.

  3. Raw Jenna permalink*
    June 30, 2010 7:24 pm

    I do love my dehydrator! It helps when I’m craving snacks!

  4. July 8, 2010 12:26 am

    The cookies look delicious! Will need to find the recipe… and I think your choc chips look very cute 🙂

    • Raw Jenna permalink*
      July 8, 2010 9:46 pm

      Thanks! They were delicious!

Trackbacks

  1. Good bye summer. Hello fall. « Delightfully Raw

Leave a Reply

