Skip to content

Garden, gardens, and gardens!

September 6, 2010

I love living in Decatur, GA!  We are walking distance from many amazing restaurants, adorable shops, the local Farmer’s market, and so many gardens.  I am filled with inspiration every time I go outside.  As we approach fall, the gardens are lush and green.  The yards in our neighborhood are filled with colorful flowers, shady trees, and vegetables plots.  One neighbor has giant watermelons on the vine taking over her entire yard.  I love it!

In addition to vegetable gardens in front yards, there are also several community gardens nearby.  Riding our bikes around town today, we enjoyed passing the DHS Community Garden and the Oakhurst Community Garden.  Both are doing a great job growing veggies and involving many community members.

This weekend, we went to Farmer Ds to buy some seeds and seedlings for our fall garden. We also picked up tiny lettuce seedlings at the Oakhurst garden, which often has extra baby plants for sale.  I think we will install raised beds in our front yard in the spring, but for now we are doing a container garden on the deck!  Spinach, Swiss Chard, various lettuces, dill, and cilantro are the newest additions!



2 Comments leave one →
  1. September 8, 2010 12:05 am

    I love Decatur too! My husband and I wouldn’t mind living near all of those great restaurants – did you guys check out the Book Festival this weekend? I wanted to let you know that I read your blog often, but don’t usually comment, however, I wanted to share with you that I gave you an award over on my blog – http://wp.me/psZkQ-1dr – because I love learning about eating RAW and would definitely love to incorporate more of it into my lifestyle. Oh and I absolutely love the farmer’s market over there – it is awesome!

    • Raw Jenna permalink*
      September 8, 2010 7:54 pm

      Thank you!! We did go by the Book Festival and bought some books and things. I didn’t know about the canning demonstration though!

Leave a Reply

