Skip to content

I love Indian food!

November 14, 2010

While living in Portland, OR, I fell in love with the amazing Indian restaurants within walking distance of our apartment.  We never found a place that we loved as much here in Atlanta, which is just as well since my favorite Indian dishes don’t exactly fit into my raw food diet.

I’ve come across a few raw Indian dishes online and made a few this week.  I had made Coconut Chik’n Curry with Rice from Sweetly Raw sometime last year and forgot about it.  We enjoyed it for dinner on Monday night, and now Charlie is asking if we can please have it again this week.   Raw samosas were featured on Raw on $10 a day a few weeks ago, and I decided to try them this week to stick to my Indian theme.  I could not figure out how she made hers in the samosa shape!  I made a few in triangles, gave up, and made the rest patties.  I loved the mango sauce on top.  Finally, dessert was banana topped with Carrot Halwa.


Raw Carrot Halwa

1 carrot, grated
handful of raisins
handful of pecans
1 T agave
1 tsp cinnamon
½ tsp sea salt
¼ tsp red chili powder
1 banana

Mix all of the ingredients except the banana in a bowl.  Either mash or slice the banana.  Top with mixture and enjoy!



No comments yet

Leave a Reply

