Skip to content

Update: I got a Vitamix!

February 27, 2011

Have I ever mentioned that I love smoothies?  I drink one almost every day.  It seems that smoothies are becoming more and more mainstream.  Evidence: Many of my friends now drink smoothies; Arizona made Callie a kale smoothie on Grey’s Anatomy a few weeks ago; and February’s edition of Real Simple magazine did a two-page spread on smoothies.

To support my smoothie addiction, I finally gave in and bought a Vitamix blender!  I’ve had it for a couple of weeks now and have been enjoying the smoothest smoothies ever.   Real Simple gave a recipe for a carrot-pineapple smoothie [3/4 cup pineapple, ½ cup ice, peeled orange, 2 chopped carrots, 1 banana].   I had tried carrots in my smoothies with a regular blender but was turned off by the chunky texture.   Now I can enjoy perfectly smooth and frothy carrot smoothies whenever I want.  🙂

Today I used my blender to make creamy cashew cheese to fill beet “ravioli” and served it with lightly steamed beet greens.  WOW!

And for dessert?  Chocolate banana ice cream!


No comments yet

Leave a Reply

